Scroll back to the top

Academic Success Center

(979) 458-4900 9th floor Rudder Tower

Bloom's Taxonomy

Bloom’s Taxonomy describes types of learning. It is best represented as a pyramid where the foundation of learning is shown at the bottom, with increasingly more complex types of learning as you move upward.

Colorful pyramid explaining that the learning skills of remembering and understanding are considered adequate for high school while the next levels of learning (apply, analyze, evaluate, and create) are expected at the college level.

In high school, you might have been responsible for acquiring basic knowledge of facts and figures, the foundational knowledge. However, college courses require more complex levels of learning, such as applying what you know to solve a problem or describe a situation, analyzing something to understand how it works, evaluating something, or creating something new. 

It is important to study at the level at which you will be expected to demonstrate competency, so you might need to figure out what your professor is requesting from you. You can do this by reading the syllabus closely and looking at the assignments, by doing a post-test analysis, or by talking to your professor or teaching assistant. An academic coach from the Academic Success Center can also help you understand how to approach studying for a specific class.
Supplemental Video

See all videos.

Last Updated: 02/03/2023

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. You may reproduce it for non-commercial use if you use the entire handout and attribute The Academic Success Center, Texas A&M University.